How To Understand the True Struggle In Life

I know this principle but love the way it’s put together here in this blog post. Something I need to read every morning.

Dream Big, Dream Often

Life is not easy and anyone who tells you otherwise is lying or has never put forth much effort.  

It is my belief that the real struggle in life isn’t against getting ahead or finding success. Our struggle isn’t against the system or against other people.  Our struggle isn’t even against ourselves.  Humanity’s struggle is one against desire; we want more-more money, more recognition, more love, more friends, more promotions, more stuff.  

More, more, more.  If it exists, then we want it.  

Image result for buddha

Desire is the root cause of all evil

The Buddha

Some would argue that this quote is better translated as “craving is the root of all suffering” which says what I believe to be the essence of the statement.  The undisciplined mind will focus on that which it does not possess and will crave those things leaving us wanting.  And it is this disconnect and…

View original post 234 more words

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How To Understand the True Struggle In Life

  1. Suzanne says:

    I usually like to think of it as the clinging to the desire that is the cause of suffering, not the desire itself.

    Like

  2. Suzanne says:

    Haha. You can speak your mind here Bun. Your on my blog now, not his, no angry Buddhist ladies here. At least not at the moment. 😉
    I want the truth. I can handle it.

    Like

  3. Bun Karyudo says:

    Looks interesting. I’ll pop over and take a look at the post.

    Like

    • Suzanne says:

      Let me know what you think.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bun Karyudo says:

        I thought it was an interesting post. I agreed to an extent, but thought it depended a little on what precisely was covered by the word “desire.”

        Unfortunately, my comment came right after some rather angry feedback from a lady who said she was a Buddhist. I was hesitant to comment at first in case it sounded like I was adding to a chorus of criticism. In fact, I agreed with the post writer’s main point, I think. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

