A New Season

The smell of the grill and fresh cut grass feel like summer to me.

I used to have BBQs with my family this time of year.

Now I don’t eat meat.

And I no longer have a family.

He always did the cooking.  On the grill, that is.

Maybe he still does.  Cook meat on Sundays.  Now there’s just one less plate at the table.

I really don’t know what they do on the weekends.

All I know, is that I’m not there.

And he’s not here.

And it’s better that way.

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A New Season

  1. tonirahman says:

    Sweet sadness. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

