I Wear Color

I wear color.  Sapphire adorns my ring finger, turquoise and plum encircle my wrist.  Navy blue warms my arms and chest, hot magenta stretches tight across my thighs.

The ring belongs to my ex-husband.  He put it on my finger thirty years ago.  I don’t remember how long I left it there.  We were together for five years before we got married, engaged for four.  I pulled it out recently and sat it on my bookshelf.  But it wasn’t content to just sit there in silence.  It called to me, requesting a return to that familiar place after all these years.  So I obliged.  My wedding ring had held the place of honor for 23 years, until I removed it last December upon my return from Boulder.  I’m not sure why I waited a year after my separation to take it off.  For months it felt as though I was missing an appendage.  I imagined it being the same feeling someone has when they’ve lost a finger, or a hand.

The stone of his class ring is a brilliant blue.  I feel magical when I wear it.  It’s comforting and familiar.

Today I’ve decided to give myself permission to drop into the writing zone.  To allow it to take up most of the hours of my day.  Although it’s a challenge, as my keyboard is possessed.  I’ve given up on using it, and am plunking away with one finger on my tablet’s onscreen keyboard.

Here’s a bit about Sapphires, and the color blue in general…. Hope you enjoy.

‘Sapphires really are gems of the sky, although they are found in the hard ground of our ‘blue planet’. Blue is the main colour of the sapphire. Blue is also the favourite colour of some 50 per cent of all people, men and women alike.’ http://www.gemstone.org/gem-by-gem/english/sapphire.html

‘Blue is an extremely radiant and bright color that has different stories and meaning associated with it. This color symbolizes tranquility and loyalty. Blue is mainly the color of sky and deep sea. It is related to confidence, harmony and trust. This color is the choice of most of the population and it primarily highlights emotions of a person. The color blue and its shades can even define traits of a person if he or she chooses it as their favorite color. The color can charm people and influence their decisions. It has a placid and unflustered appearance that fills the ambiance around with comfort and serenity.’  http://smashingyolo.com/different-shades-of-blue-color-names/

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2016

 

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Colors, Divorce, Life, Sapphire, Separation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I Wear Color

  1. Nduka says:

    Coincidentally, blue happens to be my favorite color 💙 And I particularly find this post very colorful 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzanne says:

      Haha. You’re always good about choosing your words. 🙂
      Blue makes me feel happy relaxed and peaceful. I look up at the blue sky everyday (although it is not always blue). My eyes are blue and my best color is turquoise. Peace to you. Thanks for all of the comments…two of my favorite words are: Please Moderate. Haha. True.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. BunKaryudo says:

    I had no idea that blue was such a popular color with so many people. It’s not my favorite color, though. I like dark green. I’m scared to look up what it is supposed to mean in case it’s something embarrassing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Suzanne says:

      I thought you’d be happy to know – Google says:
      Green symbolizes growth, harmony, freshness, and fertility. ¨ Green has strong emotional correspondence with safety. ¨ Dark green is also commonly associated with money. ¨ Green has great healing power. It is the most restful color for human eyes; it can improve vision.

      Wow! I think you picked a good color! Maybe I’ll switch! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. cabrogal says:

    Yeah, blue’s my favourite colour too. When I was in India I learned that the gods are blue for the same reason the sky is blue. To look at them is to gaze upon infinity. I guess a more contemporary metaphor would be doppler shift. Gods are blue to us because we’re approaching each other at very high speed.

    But hey, I’m not really very godly. So I think my preferred take on the colour comes from Courtney Love.

    And the sky was made of amethyst
    All the stars were just like little fists

    Yeah the sky was all fuckin’ violet
    I wanna give the violet more VIOLENCE!”

    Like

Leave a Reply

