Pulling Back the Sheet

Came across another amazing poet out there in the blog world. Check out daysofstone.wordpress.com for more wonderful works by Ryan.

days of stone

It started as a scribble
in my yearbook
and ended
with an apology,
of sorts:
I wish I’d been more,
held your hand
when it mattered

and even
when it didn’t.

Ink lasts longer
than schoolyard buds,
wilted
before their bloom.
Notes we wrote
lend breath
to ghosts,

long after
pens fall still.

In this cold place
I see your face
as it was behind the gym;
where your lips
once tasted

of blackberries
and sunshine.

Ryan Stone

image

View original post

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pulling Back the Sheet

  1. Ryan Stone says:

    I just realised that I never said thank you for this reblog. How rude of me! Thank you so much, Suzanne 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

