Bittersweet Transitions

My son went away to university tonight.

Actually I drove him there – a whole 3 1/2 miles away.

I sobbed on the drive home.

And on into the house, where my younger son so lovingly consoled me.

Saying, “Just think how you’d feel if he’d gone to Chicago Mom.”

“Or New York, or California,” I responded.

Other places he’d considered.

He wanted to go someplace new.  A big city.

Instead he opted to stick close to home.

His best friend is there after all.

And all his new friends.

He said he may come home to do laundry.

Maybe stay the weekend.

He couldn’t do that if he was in Chicago, or New York City.

So he’s within walking distance,

But my mamma heart still feels a loss.

My little boy is now a young man,

Starting his own life,

away from home –

Even if it is, only 3 1/2 miles away.

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2016

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Growing up, Motherhood, Parenthood, Single Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Bittersweet Transitions

  1. thedamari says:

    It’s bittersweet, isn’t it? We’re so happy to see them become strong and capable, and then have to come to terms with them leaving. One of mine is considering a college two hours from home for next fall, and I keep thinking “That’s sooo far.” I know

    Like

    • Suzanne says:

      Yes. It’s a funny thing to think we have raised them, and I’ve had a few flashbacks – remembering that little boy. Also some questioning, “Was I a good enough parent?” Or thoughts….”I wish I would have done xyz differently.”

      Two hours….farther than 10 minutes. Haha! Make sure you let me know how that is when it happens. 🙂

      Like

  2. 3 1/2 miles could be 312 miles… It all would feel the same. Missing him no matter where he is. ❤

    Like

  3. BunKaryudo says:

    It is a big transition so I’m not surprised you cried. I’m glad, though, that you at least know the neighborhood. If he were heading off somewhere totally unknown, that would be scary as well as sad.

    Like

Leave a Reply

