“When I Grow Up, I Want to Be…..”

Maybe I’ll become a swimsuit model.  My time at the gym over this past year has really paid off.  I think I could almost swing it.  Just Sunday I was thinking about a career in Ashiatsu.  Substitute teaching maybe?  And what about publishing my blog in book format?  A father-daughter chapbook…(Dad gave me his poems before he died.)  Maybe I could teach Acroyoga to kids.  Does my future include being a writing teacher?

I was looking up my first high school sweetheart tonight.  He’s pretty elusive.  A private Facebook page is all I could find.  Was hoping for a picture at least, but no such luck. I haven’t seen him in possibly 30 years.  Crazy!   How did that happen?  Thirty years is a hell of a long time!  I graduated in the late 80’s.  When we dated, he was a senior, I was a freshman.   Time is a weird thing.  I was thinking about who I was then.  Who he was.  I don’t even recognize myself.  I’m not the same person.  I wonder who he is now.

It’s late.  I’m tired.  I will call it a night and pick back up another day.

I’m back.  It’s another day.  I have thought about more careers I may enjoy since writing this post a few days ago…writing coach, University employee, substitute teacher at a pre-school.  My friend mentioned the classic text, What Color is Your Parachute.  I think it’s time I checked it out.  I’m an ENFP (http://www.16personalities.com/enfp-careers) so I am bursting with enthusiasm and curiosity for so many things.

Then there is my Qigong business.  I love teaching.  I love giving people the tools and experiences to bring peace and better health into their lives.  To hear their stories of how Qigong has improved their lives.  Things like, “I need this.”  “I feel such love doing the exercises in class.”  “My knees feel so much better.”  “I can feel tingling in my fingertips.  Usually I feel nothing.”  “I’m doing my own version of Qigong in the park every day now.”  “I feel so relaxed yet energized.”  “I need to do this more than once a week.  Can you add more classes at this location?”  So the question is, do I find a partner to do the business end?  The part that is lacking.  The part I need to really catapult my business and make it a feasible livelihood.  I am blessed with choices.  But the challenge is, to actually make one.  A choice that is.

For now, I sit in a local cafe drinking my Jasmine green tea and eating a spinach salad.  In a moment I will hop on my bike and ride over to the Community Rec Center to teach my Friday lunchtime class.  I will extend peace and love through ancient Chinese exercises, called Qigong (chee gung).

Namaste

P.S.  Please shoot me a comment – tell me how you follow your passions in your chosen career path.  And how you made the decision on what to do for your livelihood.

P.S.S.  I wrote this on December 18, just now getting it touched up and sent out.

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Career, Career, Live Large, Livelihood, Living, Livlihood, Livlihood, Money and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

