Still Life

Ice cream

Candlelight

Little Happy Buddha

Water in a crystal glass

Rock from the creek, that looks like a mountain

Rain outside the window

Howling wind

Empty candy wrapper by a blue ink pen

Ice cream, sweet and creamy

A sneeze building, then dissipating

Sound of the spoon scraping the bottom of the bowl

Last bite as delicious as the first

Thinking random thoughts; car maintenance, fireflies

Wondering what I’m going to do with my life

Wondering if the new guy will call

Wishing I wasn’t wondering

Maybe the happy little Buddha has all the answers

Maybe I’ll ask him.

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

 

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Buddhism, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still Life

  1. BunKaryudo says:

    I think the last spoonful of ice cream is the most delicious one but also the one I least want to eat. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

