Impermanence and Acceptance

I’m changing every day.  My thoughts, my feelings, my wants, my beliefs, my body.  It can be unsettling at times.  It can also be reassuring in times of pain.  With the reminder, this too shall pass.  This phrase is good to remember at all times.  For thinking the good times will always last leads to clinging, wanting more and more to be satisfied.  While wanting the rocky times to be over, lends itself to aversion, pushing away, or closing down.  It is only through acceptance, and compassion for all that is present, that suffering has the capacity to dissolve.  And a little metta never hurts.

May you be well.

May you be safe.

May you be happy.

May you live a life filled with peace, ease, and joy.

(Metta ~ Buddhist Loving Kindness)

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Acceptance, Buddhism, impermanence, Love, Metta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Impermanence and Acceptance

  1. BunKaryudo says:

    I often have the same thought at work — “And this too shall pass.” It’s usually followed by, “But not soon enough.”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

