Alone

Alone,

I write.

In my presence,

One black cat, one white.

The stacks of papers grow,

As I slowly turn away.

Shutting myself in,

Yet another day.

Self-sabotage,

Often exists out of fear.

Time slowly turns,

Into one more year.

I want to be free!

Yet what does that mean?

Typing to the music,

Of the washing machine?

More tasks set aside,

One more day.

Do I really want to live,

My life this way?

Isolated,

Inside of this space..

Watching each new line

appear on my face?

Teach, or write?

Is there really a choice?

I’m waiting for the answer

From that still, silent voice.

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Choices, Freedom, Loneliness, Teaching, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Alone

  1. memanera says:

    There was no humor in this one, but I do love your work, and can’t wait to see what’s next.

    Like

  2. John Masters says:

    I particularly like this one Suzanne! BTW… THE WAIT IS OVER!!

    Like

  3. BunKaryudo says:

    I agree with Tomek. I think a lot of people do feel this way — especially in the blogging community. We have to not let that self-sabotage self-sabotage us. (Ironic that this is coming from me, a man so supremely confident that in his avatar he has a bag on his head.)

    Like

  4. Girl, JUMP!! You have a way of encouraging others. I know when I read your words.. I feel I’m not alone. The world needs to hear your words. Scream it!! ❤️

    Like

  5. Suzanne says:

    Thanks. Your comment truly means so much to me.
    I just taught my Tai Chi class and feel at peace.

    Like

  6. Tomek says:

    I can’t write poetry but this one strongly resonates with me. I believe a lot of people have been feeling this way, not many have the courage to express it. Feeling this way is the sign of waking up for me. Good luck on your journey. See you on the other side.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

