Getting Started

It’s cold in here!

I sit in this little sterile room.

Two walls painted off-white.  They look yellow in the fluorescent light.

Two brick walls bookend the other sides completing the rectangle.

There is a large dry erase board mounted to my left.

A small rust-colored table holds: my tablet as I type,

my books, water and sunglasses.

As well as a blue folder that contains the work I’m supposed to be doing.

An old fashioned clock-face is staring me in the face from the wall opposite where I sit.  One of the two brick walls.

The clock’s red skinny pointer clicking around, then around again. Setting the meter.

I don’t want to be here.

I want to be outside.

Where it’s warm.  Where there are trees, grass, and flowers.  And fresh air.

The timer goes off.

Letting me know it’s been an hour,

and it’s time for a break.

The blue folder remains on the table to my right.  Unopened.

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Distractions, Procrastination and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

