Out of Hiding

I was taught to be modest,

or maybe it was meek.

Things like, “If you don’t have anything nice to say…..” and

“turn the other cheek.”

I am no longer playing by those rules.

No longer hiding who I am.

A lifetime of feeling different,

afraid of being judged,

is a thing of the past.

Now that I let my true self show

I hear, “You’re classy.  You’re vibrant!  You glow!

I used to hide

the scar on my forehead thinking others would find me unattractive.

Nobody even notices.

I used to soften my square jaw with a long hair style, as I had been instructed to do.

My new stylist says, “It’s an asset.  Show it off! It’s a strength for you.”

I cut my own hair now….ultra short punk!  Showing off my square jawline and high cheekbones.

I get more compliments on my appearance than I have in my entire life!

I used to hide my art thinking it only something I liked.

Now it hangs in local establishments, in art galleries,

a bank in Texas, on a kitchen wall in Seoul.

I used to hide my writing, assuming no one would read it until after I died.

Now I share it with the world nearly every day!

I used to hide my thoughts, worrying others would think I was weird.

Now I value being different.  Being unique is preferable.

Most I meet seem to love me.  Now I love me too!

I used to hide my soul from myself, and everyone around me.

Now I take every opportunity to let it shine!

Now,

I am overjoyed,

to be fully Alive!

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Artist, Change, Growth, Love, Poet, Poetry, Writer and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Out of Hiding

  1. Suzanne says:

    Reblogged this on learningtocry.wordpress.com and commented:

    Did some editing on Out of Hiding. Let me know what you think. I Loooove comments. : )

    Like

  2. Sounds liberating…. Would be interested in seeing your artwork….

    Like

  3. tonirahman says:

    This is another word(s) for TRANSFORMATION. Wow. How beautiful it is. Thank you for showing us the way Suzanne. It is so inspiring. Keep writing and keep being you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

