Follow up – Homemaker

Pulling this old one up from my first month of blogging….last October. It was written in reference to a previous post on the term Homemaker.

learningtocry.wordpress.com

Following up on yesterday’s post….

I realized that I didn’t clarify why I find the term homemaker less than unappealing.  The term hearkens back to the fifties housewife.  The modern feminist in me rebels against such a stereotype. The term seems to signify lesser than.  Just.  Susie Homemaker.  Too much goody goody cheesiness.

I am very complex.  I want to live a fairly simple life, but I am far from simple.  I have a depth of interests, skills, abilities, passions, and character.  Nothing like my ruffled aproned vision of Susie in the kitchen with a smile, chocolate frosting, a spatula, and a homemade cake.

I love my sons and want to make a nice home for them.  Every weekend they’re at the house we made into a home over the 14 years our family of four lived there together.  Every weekend while they’re gone I try to do something, add…

View original post 181 more words

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Follow up – Homemaker

  1. These days, we all wear so many hats, we don’t just fit into one label. I always am amazed that life isn’t as neat and tidy like I thought it would be. A lot of twists and turns, some good, some not so good. We just have to do the best that we can and appreciate those close to us.

    I really enjoy your posts. Thanks for sharing them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

