Shine

She said I sparkled.  Like a copper penny.

Marilyn was larger than life.  Wrote amazing poetry in king size sketch books, and spoke her words with great passion.  I looked up to her.  She was an elder with the Cherokee Nation. Her words meant a lot to me.

Susan touched my hair, looked at my dress, then into my eyes. “You’re vibrant.  Glowing.” She smelled like lavender, and fresh air.  And her hugs always lasted longer than most others, a product of her Sufi ways.  She still looked the same after all these years.  Same long grey hair.  Same caring smile.

He asked me how I was doing.  I said, “Well, things are still happening.  But now I’m much more centered and don’t let them consume me.” He laughed, “That’s life.  If things weren’t happening, that would mean you were dead.  It’s all part of the practice.”  Terry’s a great teacher.  He’s been away all summer.  I didn’t realize how much I missed him until I saw him sitting on his cushion in the sangha this morning.

Many older, wiser mentors have helped me along this path. Now all of the years of practice are beginning to shine through me and out into the world.

It’s time to pay it forward.

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Buddhism, Creative Nonfiction, Creative Writing, Growth, Meditation, Vipassana and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shine

  1. Suzanne says:

    Thanks for your comment Dennis. : )
    Sounds like we are taking the same path to enlightenment. : ) Glad to share the ride with you.

    Like

  2. I identify very much with this poem. Meditation is what keeps me sane when the questions with no answers come to visit.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

