The End

Tonight was the first time I thought about the body burning.

But only for a moment.

The call came Friday morning.

It was no surprise.

I’ll never see her face again.

Usually there’s a funeral.

A body to view.

This time there would be no body.

There would be no funeral.

Only ashes, a tree, and dinner with family.

But not until he’s ready.

He’ll live alone now.

With only a cat to keep him company.

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

My mom had a  tumor growing inside of her.  It was inoperable.  Unstoppable.  Her suffering ended Friday morning.

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Cancer, Death, Mom, Poetry, Suffering and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The End

  1. Janice says:

    Suzanne, My heart goes out to you and I wish you comfort and peace. I’m thankful to your mom, for you and grateful her hurting is over. Thank you for generously sharing your journey – your vulnerability and strength, everything!

    Like

  2. t.dot says:

    Sincerest hugz. Love and light always ❤

    Like

  3. tonirahman says:

    Suzanne, she is not gone, only transformed. I feel her love and wisdom, her clarity and beauty. Blessings and prayers for the family.

    Like

  4. thedamari says:

    I remember when you told me about this. I’m so sorry for your loss, but glad she’s out of pain.

    Like

  5. Suzanne says:

    Thank you. I appreciate your thoughtfulness.

    Like

  6. May peace be with you and your family.

    Like

Leave a Reply

