No Frills Here

I have never been a frilly girl.  Always preferring to look at the flowers rather than wear them.  Growing up I spent my days digging in the dirt, and wading in creeks, not fretting over being pretty or pristine.  I climbed trees and jumped my bike off ramps made out of old picnic tables instead of playing Mommy or dreaming about a knight, on a white horse, who would come carry me away.

I still don’t own any floral prints but remain enchanted with the pallet of colors that flowers provide.  My natural nails still accumulate a bit of soil by the end of each day.  I favor the feeling of sweat slowly forming on my body to staying “fresh” in artificial air-conditioned environments.  Although, at this stage, I do make a conscious effort to look good.  Actually, I look the best I have in my entire life.  And I’m proud of that. I still enjoy the companionship of trees and like to stick my toes in the cool creek, veering off of my hiking path to step on the wet stones.  I get to my desired destinations by bicycle, speeding down hills – no hands, with the wind in my face.   I’ve  done the real life Mommy thing, continuing to adapt that role as my sons grow into young men.  As for the knight in shining armor, well, I’ll have to admit… these days I have been dreaming of being carried away by just the right fella.  Although, I think I’ll put my order in for a black Lexus instead of a white stallion!

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Childhood, Nature, Tomboy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No Frills Here

  1. From one mostly tomboy to another..I salute you 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

