The Artist at Work

Do I create for you?

Do I create for me?

Why do we – artists- feel the need to share our creations?

What is the motivation?  What is the purpose?

If I do it solely for me, and just want to share it with you, because I love it – does that make me narcissistic?

Dear Artist, What do you think?

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Art, Artist, Creative Writing, Creativity, Writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Artist at Work

  1. cabrogal says:

    That’s a toughie.

    When I started blogging I thought I was writing to articulate and exorcise the various disquiets I felt, trying to recover my literary skills after a decade of depression had trashed them and searching for some way to communicate some experiences I still find incommunicable. The reason I put my scribblings in the public arena is because I found writing for myself is more likely to blunt than enhance my ability to communicate. I even find my own ten year old diary entries almost incomprehensible. I guess I need at least an imagined reader to write to.

    But with the feedback WordPress gives in the form of likes and follows has come a clearer understanding of the narcissistic impulses underlying it all. I don’t just want to hone my writing, I want others to tell me my work is still up to scratch. And I only want to be able to communicate my experiences because one of them fixed my depression and I suffer the conceited delusion I can somehow infect others with my curing meme.

    A miracle worker? Moi? Where do I sign up?

    I’m no different to those wide-eyed, fixed-grin, happy-clappy evangelists really, except that I wouldn’t have a clue how to convert someone.

    Like

    • Suzanne says:

      Hi. Thanks so much for taking the time to think this one through…and sharing those thoughts. I learn a lot through others processes, motivations, and passions. So I think you are doing your job well (evangelizing that is : ) ). My wise friend once told me we will never know all of the ways we touch others or affect their lives in what we do and say. This could be acts and words used intentionally or unintentionally. So it seems when there is clear intention behind what one is doing that opens up all the more change in the world. I say kudos to you for your mission.
      I agree about the Likes and Follows. They have conditioned me. But that is fading a little as I feel my addiction to them is softening! I do love to share what I write and have to remember to also write in my notebook just for me…and that that is okay and very worthwhile even if no one else sees it. I do find I want to share so much now though….feeling like I would like to share it all. Hhhhm.. Maybe that means I need to continue to whittle down other areas and open up even more space for blogging! Yay! I like that idea. I also believe writing is on of the best therapies. I teach classes or retreats called Writing in the Moment in which I introduce people to free writing and tapping into that sweet delicious place of peace and understanding that is accessible to all of us. I think you and I are on the same page! : )
      Thanks again for sharing! You’re making a difference. I really like your writing and topics on your blog.
      Suzanne

      Like

  2. Niklas says:

    It’s a way of communication I think. The thoughts and words that pours out maybe need to be acknowledged. Other eyes and minds that read and see. Adds or strengthen the meaning of the words by validation in a way. The words means something not only to you, but to another human being too. I belive we are not meant to exist in loneliness. Even if we at times salute solitude. Or something like that..

    Like

  3. I think it makes you simply wonderful. 😉

    Like

    • learningtocry says:

      Thanks! Why is it you create…share? : )

      Like

    • Suzanne says:

      Wise words Niklas. Thank you so much for being part of a dialogue on why we, as artists, writers, create, and all that goes along with that. I agree. It is part of the bigger picture that we all need each other. Mmmm. Nice. I am glad I have moved into a new phase in which I no longer think I have to do it all on my own and I am ready to open up and share myself with the world. Your words helped me remember that part. : )
      Suzanne

      Like

Leave a Reply

