You Became a Part of Me

I no longer play with that bit of fine hair on the back of my neck,

like you used to do.

I no longer let out a pleasant sigh

like you used to do, on that first hug after being apart.

I no longer do that fidgety thing with my fingers,

like you used to do on my back.  I was never sure why you did that.

But I still keep you inside of me

not knowing how to let you all the way out.

I miss your habits.  But they are no longer mine.

One day you may take all of your things and move completely out.

Then what will I have to cry about?

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Heartache, Love, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to You Became a Part of Me

  1. mairacharmed says:

    You’re being so honest, insecure yet strong and open in your poems! It makes me feel your emotions, and that is how I know they are real. Your writing makes the words flow like waves. Everything is connected and so very well written!

    Like

Leave a Reply

