The Flowers of Life

The flowers are still there

In pots out on the balcony.

But their beauty no longer pulls me in.

To their vibrant colors I have grown accustomed.

Now they simply blend into the surroundings.

Therein the danger lies.

Desensitized

I am blind to their beauty.

Compromised

I am blind to life.

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Buddhism, Poetry, Present Moment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Flowers of Life

  1. desk49 says:

    Hippie got me here
    I ask what does
    the eyes of March bring

    Those flowers of life
    others around us see
    their vivacious colors
    the beauty shinning
    out from the darkness
    showing them things
    we have long forgotten
    but touch their lives daily

    Like

Leave a Reply

