Just What the Doctor Ordered

I got my prescription filled Saturday night on the dance floor!  The best medicine I could’ve asked for.  A strong drug that made me feel real good!

A night of dancing with a young crowd at one of my favorite night spots, did the trick.  The band was amazing!  The energy out of this world!  The dance floor was packed – everyone having a totally crazy time, dancing with each other, sweating, connecting, purely blissed out!

The gypsy girl with the braids that liked my style, moving with me on the dance floor instead of her dreadlocked sweetie, our arms in snake like motions, hips swaying.  The young woman, just my size, short pink hair, sultry punk attire, we danced together most of the night, our movements naturally in sync, not a care in the world – having a blast!   The oh-my-god cute young guy~ our shoulders swaying from side to side, he gazing straight into my eyes with that oh so sexy look, that look that still makes me smile.  The adorable grin just for me, as our bodies moved sensually from side to side.  Just the attention I needed after feeling sad and rejected all week. Gaining an understanding that there are other ways to connect with the love energy I’d been missing.  Enjoying the closeness of the shy guy that danced next to me all night long, the one too bashful to accept the invitation to dance with me and my new punk partner.

My own energy bursting forth with the rhythm of the funk band jammin on stage a few feet away, the lead singer keepin the crowd in a continual frenzy.

It was just what I needed to get my groove back!  Others may have turned me away …but hey, it’s their loss……I’ve still got it goin on! Just ask my new dance floor buddies.  They’ll tell ya!  :  )

And for your listening pleasure, check out the link below to hear the awesome band (with the funny name) that rocked the house Saturday night!

http://www.reverbnation.com/hazardtoyabooty

Copyright Suzanne Norton 2015

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Dance, Dancing, Love, Movement, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just What the Doctor Ordered

  1. learningtocry says:

    Yes, dancing is amazing! I went again tonight to a Talking Heads movie dance party. Pretty cool. Felt good to be out on the floor. Not any good stories to tell this time though, but it was fun! : )

    Like

  2. Isn’t it amazing to leave all the worries behind and shake them off on the dance floor? 🙂
    Also, a few young guys got lucky to have your lovely and lively company 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

