Control and Swimming in the Sea of Life

Control is an illusion.

We have very little control.  There are an infinite number of circumstances that can intersect or intervene with our plans.

I don’t know if John Lennon came up with it or not, but I’m going to give him credit:

“Life is what happens when you’re busy making other plans.”

This is just perfect.  Totally sums it up.

By staying open, and not having an agenda, so many amazing things have happened in my life.  Most recently, on my trip to Boulder.  Life can be so delicious when we give ourselves permission to loosen the grip.  To let go of fear and just keep stepping forward into the unknown.  My wise-beyond-his-years son told me several years ago that the thing people fear the most is the unknown.

One of my recent mantras is “I don’t know.”  I say it, trying to become comfortable with it.   I think it is human nature to want to know.  To have the answers.  To be afraid of the unknown.  I have felt there is so much unknown in my life over the past year, but I am coming into the awareness that all of life is really a big unknown.

This doesn’t mean we shouldn’t make plans or have goals.  I guess it is more about hanging with that openness.  Not being constricted.  Seeing there are many possibilities even within set plans and goals.  Being constricted cuts off blood flow and problems ensue. Tightness, limited ability to think clearly, mental and physical health problems.  Stagnation.

I want to swim in the sea of life.  Kick up my heels.  Feel what’s real.  Stop wading through the muck and mire.  And just be able to say “yes” to what is out there waiting for me.

Whatever that may be.

Yes!

John Lennon’s quote from his song “Beautiful Boy” written for his and Yoko’s son Sean.   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0A56ZuKgPYg

I sang the song in sign language for my sons at a talent show when they were younger. They sat in the front row not knowing what I was about to perform.  My inspiration was Mr. Holland’s Opus.

About Suzanne

I write poetry, flash fiction, quotes and personal essays. Words flow forth like a river that cannot be dammed. Writing is my soul.
This entry was posted in Buddhism, Control, Essay, Giving up Control, Grasping, Growth, Illusion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Control and Swimming in the Sea of Life

  1. Pieter Navis says:

    Control is an illusion.

    jep 🙂

    Like

  2. thedamari says:

    It’s very freeing to realize you don’t have the responsibility to control all of those things you can’t control anyway.

    Like

  3. kimberley Roquas says:

    Reblogged this on Kim is thinking out loud .

    Like

  4. kerryd1957 says:

    My new mantra is as follows. Thanks.

    Like

  5. thank for the prayer for space, for acceptance of stepping from fear, through the unknown, and into delight. good medicine for me this week

    Like

    • learningtocry says:

      So happy to have a positive impact in another’s life. That’s what makes life worth living.
      Peace to you Badger.

      Like

Leave a Reply

